Karori Normal School

Te Kāhui Ako o Whanganui a Tara consists of nine schools, seven full primary schools (Karori Normal School, Karori West Normal School,  Kelburn Normal School, Northland School, Brooklyn School, Wadestown School and Makara Model School), for students in Years 1 to 8, and two secondary schools (Wellington College and Wellington Girls’ College) for Years 9 to 13. Both secondary schools are single sex. All schools are located in Wellington city. All nine schools surround the harbour, hence the name Te Whanganui-a-Tara.

Our Vision

“Promoting collaboration across our community to support the wellbeing and optimise the achievement outcomes at all stages of education.”

All our schools are committed to preparing our students for success and developing confident, connected, actively involved, lifelong learners (NZC) As a collective and as individual schools, we are committed to guiding students to realise their individual potential and to be equipped with skills, learning dispositions and qualities that will enable them to respond to the complex and changing world with confidence.

In developing our vision we have discussed the importance of transitions over a wide range of contexts and points in time from early childhood through to secondary and beyond. The importance of providing connections with the past, present and future for students will assist in making transitions smooth so that we are able to respond to the needs of our learners.

As students journey from early childhood through secondary school and, in many cases, on to tertiary training or tertiary education in one of its various forms, they should find that each stage of the journey prepares them for and connects well with the next.